Sometimes You Have to Kick Yourself in the Butt

To achieve greatness, sometimes you need a little kick in the butt.

  • Steve Jobs was fired from the company he started before returning to create the iPod, iPhone, etc…
  • Vera Wang didn’t make the U.S. Olympic figure skating team before she became queen of wedding dresses.
  • J.K. Rowling was a single unemployed mother before she introduced us to a certain scarred wizard.

But, what happens when life doesn’t cripple you with hardship? What happens when everything seems to be accelerating forward… but in a direction somewhat askew of your dreams?

Upon graduation, I had a steady part-time job at a rapidly expanding call center. I knew that if I stayed, there would be many opportunities for full-time and possible management positions. I also knew that if I decided to stay, I would be deferring (or possibly eliminating) a career in public relations.

To help me decide, I had to think about what option was going to provide me long-term happiness/success. At the call center, I would probably be able to achieve success rather quickly and I’d probably be able to move out of my parents house which is what I really wanted. However, I don’t think I would be as happy in the long run and the skills learned there might limit future opportunities. If I chose to pursue the public relations route, I would have to leave the call center all together to take the PR internship at Western Digital. This would put the plans to move out on hold until I could land a full-time job sometime after the summer. With the long term goals in mind, I decided to take the risker path and, so far, have had no regrets. It was a difficult decision, but the greater the risk, the greater the reward, right?

Some advice to those in similar situations: follow your dreams and while it’s ok to modify your goals, be sure you’re thinking of the big picture. When life doesn’t give you lemons, sometimes you have to plant your own dang lemon tree to make some sweet lemonade later on.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

About rychacon

I'm a recent graduate from Cal State Fullerton with B.A. in Communications with an emphasis in Public Relations. I am now entering the big boy world. These are my adventures.

Leave a Reply

