3 Annoying Questions to Ask a Recent College Grad

Class of 2013

1) “How’s the job hunt going?”

If the job hunt was going well, I would have a job and I wouldn’t still be hunting for a job. 😦

2)  Are you paying back your student loans yet? Don’t you have to start paying them back soon?

What!? I have to pay them back? I had NO idea. Look, I get that your trying to be helpful, but in order for me to start paying back anything, I need some type of income. Also, since I am the one with the student loan, I think I have a slightly better idea as to when I need to start paying things back. I still love you, though! (especially if you’re giving me graduation gift$).

3) What are your plans now?

This is probably the most common questions asked of graduates and, although somewhat of a valid question, one of the most annoying. It’s annoying because the answers are usually obvious. Either I am going to look for a job or I am going back to school. In other words, in this moment, I don’t want to think about the looming real world problems. I want to enjoy what I have accomplished and bask in the congratulatory pomp. I want to let it sink in that I am the first Chacon to graduate college. I want to thank my family and friends who had to endure my 5 years of whining. I want to savor these feelings because I know there will be hurdles and heartbreak, but I’ll always have this diploma and these memories to keep my spirits high.

Tags: , , ,

About rychacon

I'm a recent graduate from Cal State Fullerton with B.A. in Communications with an emphasis in Public Relations. I am now entering the big boy world. These are my adventures.

Leave a Reply

